Home / Free AI API credits / OpenAI

OpenAI · AI/API

OpenAI Codex for Open Source

Verified
Free

Six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex for eligible open-source maintainers, plus API credits and conditional Codex Security access

Apply on the Codex for Open Source page with your ChatGPT email, public GitHub username and the public repo you maintain. Eligible maintainers get six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex; core maintainers with write access can also get Codex Security.

open-source maintainers

Builder Perks is an independent directory and is not affiliated with OpenAI. Apply only on the official site (developers.openai.com) — we never collect applications, logins or payments.

Apply on official site: developers.openai.com ↗
𝕏 Share

How to claim

Guide verified 24 Oct 2026 · from official page

Who qualifies

  • The fund now supports eligible maintainers by offering six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex and conditional access to Codex Security for core maintainers with write access

What you need

  • Company website
  • Mentioned on the official page; exact requirements may vary.

Typical approval time

  • Not stated on the official page — check the claim page.

Step by step

  1. Apply on the Codex for Open Source page with your ChatGPT email, public GitHub username and the public repo you maintain. Eligible maintainers get six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex; core maintainers with write access can also get Codex Security.
  2. Submit desktop-only plugins
  3. Submit a Claude Code plugin
  4. Open-source maintainers can apply for API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, and Codex Security
  5. If you're a core maintainer or run a widely used public project, apply
  6. If your project doesn't fit the criteria but it plays an important role in the ecosystem, apply anyway and explain why

Common rejection reasons

  • Not stated on the official page — check the claim page.

Tips & fine print

  • If your project doesn't fit the criteria but it plays an important role in the ecosystem, apply anyway and explain why

Lines are quoted from the official page (extended guide); anything not on the page is marked “not stated” rather than guessed.

VerifiedLast verified 25 Oct 2026

Expires: No end date announced · Added 24 Oct 2026 · found via

More AI/API deals

See all